top of page
  • jessecsturgill

Introduction

My name is Jesse Sturgill and I am attending Western University's Public History Master's program. As it stands, the first term has only just begun as of last week. I am an International student from America, so coming into the program, I had many concerns ranging from financial, lawful and regulation, and in general about the classmates I would be working closely with. Thankfully, after meeting them both on Zoom and in person, I was happy to find that they are all very nice and very intelligent, each specializing in a different field.

As it stands, I as working as a GSA at the Banting House in London which I am eagerly looking forward to working with and learning from Grant who curates the house, whom I have found to be exceptionally knowledgeable in both Banting and in the history of Diabetes and Insulin. I am excited also to help guide tours through the inside of the house, assist in setting displays for the various plans we have already discussed, and help with researching the details for these displays. The only concern I have is the location of the historical house as it is located in an area that has a problem with drugs and homelessness. I am hoping that, as we attract attention to the location, it will generate more funding for the area and help to at least alleviate the problem. Though unlikely, I am hopeful for the result.

As we work through this year, I hope that with our major project, we manage to create an exhibit that will help generate the attention needed to help funnel interest into the area as it, too is suffering. It seems obvious by now, but I feel that museums, public exhibits, and public parks are excellent ways to help draw attention to a location. It shows off the local history, culture, and heritage, it helps to educate those who wish to visit, and it often helps to instill a sense of pride, relief, or understanding in many.

As it can be seen, I enjoy local history very much. I enjoy studying many locations, time periods, wars, and many other facets of history, but I feel as though I get the most joy out of studying what histories and undiscovered past an area has. Though this, I feel that I can better understand the community and thus, help to connect with the community as well. I hope that those who view these exhibits feel the same, and I look forward to help create these experiences.

63 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Completing Projects and Classes

Hello and thank you for tuning in again. This week like the past couple have been exceptionally busy with the various projects for my classes. Fortunately, I was able to finish all of them on time, an

Near Term End

Hello and thank you for tuning in again. My apologies for missing last week, I was entirely focused on researching for my projects whose due dates are coming up. Last week I got to meet up with my par

bottom of page